One shot down, only 17,328 to go

One shot down…and if I live until I’m 80, only 17,328 to go.  A little crazy when it is put that way, but it was very productive and eye-opening for my geometry kiddos to figure that out.

There are 7 injection areas, and several spots within each area.  Everyday I will alternate injection areas and the spots within, until I hit them all and start over.  The first one I gave to myself in my stomach.    I was fearing the injection more than I should have, but did not anticipate the reaction as much as I should have. 

 After 5 seconds or so, there was intense burning and itching.  I cannot touch and/or itch, just endure.  After an hour or so that went away.  Then the welt with the circumference of a softball popped up around the site – and I thought my stomach was chubby to begin with… 🙂  Luckily that was down by morning.  Some other reactions that should only occur at the beginning are insomnia and achiness – and I had them both.  Grrr with the insomnia, however, it is good for my teaching career.  As I was up last night from 2:00-4:15, I got several more things graded and recorded – woo hoo!  Once I was able to sleep, it wasn’t great since I was so achy.  It is said that once an injection is given at each site, my body will be fairly used to it, and those symptoms will begin to fade away.  We’ll see.  It could definitely be worse.

Until next time,

xoxo, LL

~ by love for laura on January 26, 2011.

3 Responses to “One shot down, only 17,328 to go”

  1. I’m glad to hear that the reactions will go away after a while. Did you get to watch the news last night and then read the article in the Oklahoman today. Ask someone for a paper if you don’t have one. Let me know….I can save mine. More and more prayers!!!!!!!!
    Love, Aunt Kathy

  2. I finally got to listen to your CD tonight while I was driving to Ponca. “Anyway” is one of my favorite songs(We saw Martina in concert one time). However…while I was waiting for my Sonic order, singing along with “Wonderful World”, I didn’t notice the girl with my order standing there. Thank goodness the windows were rolled up!! Singing is not my forte but I love the CD!! And I hope you get 20,000 shots

  3. I think of you so often…remember – I can help with the injections any time.

Leave a comment